Oxford Chamber Music Society: Classical concerts



Informal concerts,

Open to all

8–25 year olds FREE

CONCERTS : Tickets : Venue : About : Contact

Sundays 3.00pm, Holywell Music Room, OX1 3SB Map

New London Chamber Ensemble

7 December 2014

New London Chamber Ensemble with Michael Dussek (piano)

Mozart Quintet for Piano and Wind in E flat K452
Ligeti Bagatelles for Wind Quintet
Nielsen Wind Quintet
Poulenc Sextet for Piano and Wind

Michael Dussek's standing as a chamber musician extends world-wide and he performs with a wind quintet that is unsurpassed in this attractive and diverting repertoire

More information Book now

Ligeti Quartet

18 January 2015

Ligeti Quartet

Zorn Cat O' Nine Tails
Beethoven Grosse Fugue in B flat major opus 133
Nicola Price Quartet no 1 world premiere
Bartók Quartet no 5

This is an afternoon of musical virtuosity, wit and intensity; the young Ligeti Quartet has a developing reputation for stunning performances

More information Book now

Trio Apaches

22 February 2015

Trio Apaches

Debussy, arr. Beamish La Mer
Bridge Piano Trio no 2
Ravel Trio in A minor

An enticing transcription by Sally Beamish sets the scene for two great masterpieces; the Apaches are a world-class ensemble whose joy and virtuosity is quite extraordinary

More information Book now

Burov and Miletic

15 March 2015

Dimitar Burov (violin/viola) and Mina Miletic (piano)

Bach Chaconne for solo violin in D minor BWV1004
Shostakovich Sonata for violin and piano opus 134
Beethoven Piano Sonata in C sharp minor opus 27 no 2 Moonlight
Shostakovich Sonata for viola and piano opus 147

Two popular solo works by Bach and Beethoven were the inspiration for sonatas by Shostakovich; we hear them paired in performance by a highly talented duo

More information Book now

Aronowitz Ensemble

26 April 2015

Aronowitz Ensemble with Tom Poster (piano)

Mozart Piano Quartet in G minor K478
Britten String Quartet no 3 opus 94
Brahms Piano Quintet in F minor Opus 34

Outstanding young international artists perform melodious and moving works and a magnificent piano quintet to close the season

More information Book now

2014/15 Brochure Download [pdf] 1.6Mb


Wu Quartet

2 November 2014

Wu Quartet

Haydn Quartet in F sharp minor opus 50 no 4
Berg Quartet opus 3
Beethoven Quartet in C sharp minor opus 131

The multi-award winning Wu, one of the finest up-and-coming string quartets, performs music that is playful, powerful and of deep spiritual profundity

More information

Concerts and programmes subject to alteration

OCMS concerts logo